Sandra Stojanovic


LOS ANGELES, February 8, 2007

        Brian Melton and Lyle Vincent will receive the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) John Alonzo Heritage Award during the 21st Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards gala here on February 18 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel. The Heritage Award recognizes outstanding achievements in student filmmaking.

        “This award is designed to encourage the next generation of talented filmmakers to pursue their dreams by recognizing outstanding artistic achievements by students,” says Laszlo Kovacs, ASC, chairman of the organization’s Education Committee.

        Applicants for the Heritage Award must be either in their final year of film school or a recent graduate. Their student film submissions must be accompanied by a written recommendation from a film school chair, dean or teacher. Entries were judged by a jury of ASC members.

        We weren’t looking for beautiful images, Kovacs says. We were judging how effectively the films submitted by student cinematographers helped their collaborators present their stories. It wasn’t an easy decision. There were many impressive entries.

        Kovacs also announced that Kevin Moss and Sandra Stojanovic received honorable mentions for their entries. Moss will complete his undergraduate education at Columbia College Chicago in May, Stojanovic graduated from the American Film Institute.


         The ASC was founded in 1919 for the purpose of advancing the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC Awards, call  (+1) 323-969-433.


ASC Plaqute
Caroline Crossing
short, 21 min, HD
Production 2006

American Film Institute
Copyright ©  SANDRA VIDEO 2008 |  All rights reserved |